Tags

, , , , ,

l think a lot about layers in things. Like in life, people have lots of layers, this is what makes them unique and interesting. It gives each individual their own story. I also like to think about the layers in a landscape and try to capture that in my paintings. Landscapes have various layers including the earth, pine needles, trees, branches etc. It’s all these layers that give the landscape character and a story.

It takes time to build these layers in both instances. Some layers we want to remove and forget, but of course we can’t. We can, however, purposefully put on a new layer, have new experiences, new stories.

I take more time with my paintings now, building up the layers. It gives the work great depth and makes it so unique. The underlying layers have a chance to breathe and come thru – just like in our lives. By using some steel wool, I can scratch out one layer to reveal another or rough up the edges. These are like the scars we have – every scar has a story, right?

My painting Sunset on the Marsh is a wonderful example of using lots of layers. I would have a hard time recreating this, because the layers involved make the painting.

"Sunset on the Marsh"

“Sunset on the Marsh” is available at 1stdibs in the New York Design Center building on Lexington Ave, NY until August 30th.