Tags

, , , , ,

I was recently asked by someone if there was much difference in painting small paintings versus large. I gave it some thought and here is how I described the difference.

It’s like the difference between folding a king sized sheet versus a facecloth. When you fold a sheet you use more of your body and your energy starts off emanating outward and eventually becomes more inward and focused as you finish. When you fold a facecloth, your energy starts more focused and central and you use less of your body to accomplish the task.

She loved the analogy and her response was “Wow. What a fantastic description that I can so easily visualize. Also helps me to appreciate why you’d prefer stretching out – physically, mentally, emotionally – with the larger paintings.”

12 x12 Acrylic on Canvas

intothemystic